Cooking Up A Storm

19 Mar

Saturday I decided I was going to make a Chicken and Vegetable Pie a recipe I have been wanting to do for a while. The hubby loves a bit of pastry actually i think that maybe his favourite bit of the pie, but by the look of his empty plate I think he liked the filling too!

20120319-215322.jpg

You can find the recipe here. I used any vegetables I had in my fridge plus the compulsory frozen peas and sweetcorn I also used puff pastry. It’s a pretty easy pie recipe and doesn’t need cream or a million different herbs or strange ingredient so you can pretty much whip it up with store cupboard ingredients. The only thing that takes a while is pre cooking the chicken but you can just pop that in the oven and kind of forget about it for 40 minutes. I was unable to take a picture of the full pie as everyone had started to tuck in before I got the chance. But here’s a look at the half eaten pie! I served it with some extra green Vegetables and good old mash potato.

20120319-215247.jpg

I decided to doubled the pie ingredients and have frozen it as it will make a quick healthy midweek meal to have with some rice. Creamy Chicken and rice is one of my favourite dinners Yum yum.

I have also been baking again and had to share this recipe with you. If you like coffee cake you will love these. Give them a go super easy too. The icing was delicious and not at all sickly. You can find the recipe here

20120319-215423.jpg

I made them for Sunday a joint celebration for Mothers Day because Mums Rock! and for Doolallytat JJ’s birthday as she will be in sunnier (hopefully) climes for her actual birthday. The cakes went down a storm and were gone in a flash and mum loved her Doolallytat creation handmade card.

20120319-215541.jpg

So here was to a weekend of happy cooking and crafting xoxo

One Response to “Cooking Up A Storm”

  1. wendymc12 March 20, 2012 at 3:41 am #

    Love the article and the Pictures-YUM!

Leave a Reply

