It’s All About The Bread!

23 Mar

Ok so I know probably not the best thing to eat, especially if your trying to be good but I love fresh bread the smell the taste…delicious. After spending a small fortune weekly at our local bread shop it got me thinking what about making my own bread. Now I have tried making bread the old fashioned way but I really don’t have the patience for all that proving malarkey. So thought lets try to think of ways to start putting my case across to the hubby as to why it would be awesome to have a bread maker.

So I started to do some research on bread makers and it’s a minefield, conflicting views and people saying that they don’t work properly the bread isn’t right when it comes out. Which started to make me think is it even worth getting one at all. The more reviews I looked at one bread makers name kept popping up the Panasonic SD2501 it was a little more expensive than I had been looking to pay but it had an automatic nut and seed dispenser and you can make jam in it too what more could a girl ask for!

So told the hubby how amazing it was and how he would be able to have fresh bread everyday, how lovely his lunchtimes would be and to be honest I think he gets so bored of me going on that he would say yes to anything!

So just after Christmas my Panasonic SD2501 or Big Boy as I like to now call him arrived. He’s rather on the large side you need to either have a nice big cupboard to put it in or it does take up quite a bit of room on the side. I’ve got him on the side which is fine as I haven’t stopped using him since he arrived.

20120323-205830.jpg

When I brought him I brought a separate bread maker book but to be honest other than having a flick through I haven’t used it and have been using the booklet that came with the bread maker. You have to first get your head around that the quickest it can make bread is 1 hour and 55 minutes and some of the other programmes are up to 6 hours but it has a timer so you can just pop all the ingredients in set the timer and have it ready for when you want. I can definitely recommend the french bread recipe and the seeded loaf is delicious too.

But yesterday I made the spiced fruit loaf it needs to go on menu 03 which is a four hour programme which at some point tells the bread maker that it needs to open its automatic raisin and nut dispenser to drop in the mixed dried fruit.

1 tsp Yeast
400g Strong White Flour
2 tsp Sugar
75g Butter
1 tsp Salt
2 tsp Cinnamon
1 tsp Mixed Spice
2 Eggs
100 ml Water
100 ml Milk
150g Mixed Dried Fruit

20120323-210005.jpg

And the result yummy yummy Spiced Fruit Loaf which is delicious toasted with butter or even better with ice cream.

If you have a yummy bread maker recipe that you would like to share I would love to hear about it.

xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

