The Bunny He’s A Coming!

5 Apr

As you may have gathered us Doolallytat Girls love a theme and with Easter coming well that just fills us with excitement.

After my Valentines Heart Project I thought I would have a go at wool/yarn balloons which are supposed to end up looking like Easter eggs (I will let you be the judge of that)

What you will need:

– Small Balloons (I used water balloons)
– PVA Glue
– A couple of spoons of Corn Flour (any flour would probably work)
– Coloured wool/yarn
– A tray covered in baking paper

Then you need to:
– Blow up the balloons to the size you would like your eggs

20120405-221005.jpg

– Grab an old bowl add the flour and squirt the glue in (don’t do what I did and use you best Joseph and Joseph mixing bowl that you then have to spend ages cleaning all the glue off when your finished!)

20120405-221125.jpg

– Cut the lengths of wool I found the longer the better but you have to watch it doesn’t get tangled in the glue.

– Now the messy bit, cover your lengths of wool in the glue, you want it covered but not soaking and wrap it around the ballon in whatever fashion you fancy.

– Then place it on the tray to dry. I decided to dry mine in the mini green house not the cleverest of ideas (I’m blonde and impatient!) as with it being a tad hot some of the balloons deflated before the wool had dried.

20120405-221225.jpg

20120405-221343.jpg

But mostly I was pleased with the result. I decided to thread mine on the wool I had used to wrap around the balloons to make Easter bunting to add to my Easter Display.

20120405-222557.jpg

20120405-221746.jpg

Have a go, make the Easter Bunny proud!

Xoxoxo

2 Responses to “The Bunny He’s A Coming!”

  1. the home tome April 6, 2012 at 1:11 pm #

    They look great on the bunting! I can’t tell from the pic: do you pop the balloons at the end so that just the yarn shell is left or do you leave the balloon in there! Thanks for the tutorial!

    • doolallytat April 6, 2012 at 3:03 pm #

      Yep sorry i completely forgot to say you need to pop the balloons! Another blonde moment!. They do look really nice hanging up I’ve had lots of compliments. Hope you have fun making yours. xxxx

Leave a Reply

