Hot Cross Buns….

7 Apr

Hot cross buns,Hot cross buns,one a penny,two a penny,hot cross buns.If you have no daughters,give them to your sons,one a penny,two a penny,Hot Cross Buns

And on that note take a look at these beauties!

20120407-183703.jpg

I decided to use Big Boy (the bread maker) to make my dough for the Hot Cross Buns. I wasn’t sure how it would work as its the first time I’ve used him for making dough, but it was amazing, so easy and the finished result taste so yummy.

For those of you with a bread maker here is the recipe. The recipe I used is from the book that came with Big Boy but I changed it slightly as for some reason I’m unable to follow recipes exactly!

– 1/2 tsp Yeast
– 250g Strong White Flour
– 1 tsp Sugar
– 25g Butter
– 1/2 tsp Salt
– 1 Egg
– 1tsp Cinnamon
– 1/2 tsp Mixed Spice (in top fruit dispenser)
– 100g Mixed Dried Fruit
– 100ml Milk

I cooked the dough using Menu 16 which on my bread maker is for 2hr 20mins and drops the fruit in automatically.

20120407-183633.jpg

When the dough is done you need to.

– Divide the mixture into 8 balls, place on a lightly oiled baking tray.

– I pre heated my oven and then turned it off and popped the buns in. As they need to prove again for 20 minutes.

– At this point you need to make the paste for the cross which involves mixing around 2tbsp of flour with 2tbsp of water.

– Once they have doubled in size they are ready for you to pipe on the cross make a cross indent with a knife then pipe on the cross.

– Now they are ready to cook in the oven 220c or gas mark 7 for 15/20 minutes.

20120407-183654.jpg

– When they are cooked and still hot I brushed them with golden syrup to give them a nice sweet glaze.

And now for the most important step, toast and serve with lashing of butter and a good old cup of tea….

20120407-183646.jpg

Happy Easter and Enjoy

xoxoxox

2 Responses to “Hot Cross Buns….”

  1. the home tome April 7, 2012 at 7:47 pm #

    Beautiful – and they look like a wonderful vehicle for…butter. 🙂

  2. boomerontario April 9, 2012 at 11:42 pm #

    Hot Cross Buns have always meant Easter to me, but I never knew anybody who made them! Delicious looking. Hope they were good.

Leave a Reply

