Really, Beetroot in a Cake!

11 Apr

I am not a lover of Carrot Cake, never tried Courgette Cake (anyone with a recipe I would love to hear about it) but Chocolate Beetroot Cake I thought, why not. The result a gorgeous moist chocolate cake with the consistency of chocolate brownie. Even a beetroot hater liked the cake…. It would have been rude to expose the secret ingredient.

And the toping, well I gave the new Cadbury Chocolate Philidelhia a go and made a delicious chocolate cream cheese frosting. A really yummy chocolate frosting which is quick and easy to make.

Take a look for yourself

20120411-101025.jpg

Heres the recipe:

For the cake
Sunflower oil spray or butter for greasing your chosen tin
50g Cocoa powder (I use green and blacks)
175g Plain flour
1½ tsp Baking powder
200 g Caster sugar
250 g Cooked beetroot
2 Eggs
200 g Butter soft
1 tsp Vanilla Essence

For the frosting
125g Unsalted butter
175g Cadbury Chocolate Philadelphia
275g Icing Sugar
1 1/2 tsp Vanilla Essence

– Now I know a lot of people put each ingredient into the blender one ingredient at a time but me…. I put the dry stuff in first then throw in the wet and blend. I’ve never had a problem I just make sure it mixes for a while and if its not wet enough I add a couple of dashes of milk. If unlike me you want to do it properly mix the sugar and butter then the egg and vanilla essence then the rest of the dry ingredient blending throughly at each added ingredient.

– You need to cook at 180 c or gas mark 4. My bunt cake took around 45 mins as the cake is quite moist, it was kind of difficult to tell when it was done but as a rule if the tester knife comes out clean it’s cooked. Leave to cool then pop out of its tin onto a wire rack to throughly cool before adding the frosting.

– For the frosting you need to use a hand mixer start by mixing the butter and icing sugar together add the vanilla essence then fold in by hand the Cadbury Chocolate Philadelphia. From experience when I have used cream cheese in frosting if you over blend it the frosting goes runny this is why I prefer to mix it in by hand.

– When the cake is completely cold dollop and swirl your frosting onto the cake then add sprinkles till your heart desires.

20120411-101054.jpg

Hope you enjoy and don’t forget to send me in the right direction of a good courgette cake recipe!

xoxox

One Response to “Really, Beetroot in a Cake!”

  1. Penny April 13, 2012 at 10:22 am #

    Luckily I have plenty of beetroot shooting up in the veggie patch! Yummy!

Leave a Reply

