Buttons, Boxes and More Gin…

15 Apr

I have had one of those get down and get stuff done days today.

I have had a big tidy through all my clothes, cosmetics and craft supplies and feel shattered but satisfied at my now orderly stuff.

I even stopped a few times to get on with a few craft projects firstly attaching the Gin decanter tag from yesterday’s thrift shopping to a long gold necklace chain. I am really happy with how it looks and I am sure it will be quite a conversation starter!

20120415-202804.jpg

I also managed to get my box project finished. The box was a bargain at £1.99 from The Range it was pretty plain when I brought it and was just a pale pine type colour (I forgot to take before pictures because I was so excited about getting it painted)

I used some left over Plasti-Kote spray paint in a Tiffany’s blue shade and then when it was dry gave it a good sanding to get that shabby chic look. The only thing then left to do was to go to town with some buttons and a hot glue gun.

I was really impressed with the result and I think it would make a lovely gift or a great jewellery box:

20120415-203406.jpg

20120415-203956.jpg

I think I will definitely be doing this project again it was really fun and super quick as the spray paint dries so quickly. I think I will give a metallic spray a go next time.

XOXOX

3 Responses to “Buttons, Boxes and More Gin…”

  1. thebusythistle April 15, 2012 at 8:00 pm #

    Love the jewellery box! Would make a perfect present for a friend – you’ve given me some inspiration!

    • doolallytat April 15, 2012 at 8:14 pm #

      I recommend the spray paint it is so easy to use. Also be careful with the hot glue gun I did burn my finger sticking on the buttons super glue may be safer!

      • thebusythistle April 16, 2012 at 7:17 pm #

        Good advice – I’d really rather keep hold of all ten digits!

Leave a Reply

